CD Reviews: Justin Moore, Michael Martin Murphey and Carla Williams

Justin Moore
Small Town USA (Single)
Valory Music Co./Big Machine Records

Justin Moore sings what he knows, and “Small Town USA” could be the autobiographical anthem for many of his country fans as well. Born and raised in a very small Arkansas town, Justin developed a sound that depicts the epitome of every small town country boy; tell-it-like-it-is lyrics that spell out the simple life he enjoyed growing up with a country twang that is pure and simple.

If you like true grit sounding country music, and you are not afraid of a little dust in the air and dirt on your hands, you will enjoy the sound of this up and coming country star. He is definitely country and proud of it.

Justin may have been raised in a simple life, but he has followed his heart and his dreams and is living proof that if you believe in yourself; that big things can happen. Justin has been on tour opening for acts such as Trace Adkins, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Hank Williams Jr as well as Brooks and Dunn and has already had radio success with his Top 40 Country song titled, “Back That Thing Up.”

You can find more on Justin at or

Michael Martin Murphey
Buckaroo Bluegrass
Rural Rhythm Records

Bluegrass music at it’s best. How can you go wrong with the amazing vocals of an all time country favorite with the addition of legendary instrumentalists Sam Bush( mandolin), Ronnie McCoury( mandolin), Rob Ickes( dobro), Pat Flynn( guitar), Andy Leftwich (fiddle), Charlie Cushman( banjo), Craig Nelson( acoustic bass) and Ryan Murphey (guitar).

Quoted from his bio “Michael Martin Murphey, "singing cowboy poet", is not only the number one, best-selling singer/ songwriter of American Cowboy Music, he's one of the world's most respected singer/ songwriters in the Pop and Country-Western field.” I could not have said it better myself. This CD takes some of Michaels hit songs and adds the flavor of bluegrass to create a treat for your listening pleasure. Songs like “Cherokee Fiddle”, “Fiddlin’ Man” and “Carolina In The Pines”; a familiar lyric with a new bluegrass twist that have your hands clappin’ and feet stompin. This CD is an absolute must have for everyone’s collection.

1. Lone Cowboy
2. What Am I Doing Hanging Around
3. Lost River
4. Carolina In The Pines
5. Cherokee Fiddle
6. Dancing In The Meadow
7. Healing Spring
8. Fiddlin’ Man
9. Boy From The Country
10. Wild Bird
11. Close To The Land (America’s Heartland)

For more information on Michael Martin Murphey visit or

Carla Williams
I’m Home

A native of the South, Carla Williams brings a sound to the table that is full of raw and powerful honesty. Her first single off of this CD was released to radio earlier in the year; “Every Word You’re Thinking” and brings light and truth to facing the truth in a cheating relationship.”

Carla has a voice that is solid and easy to listen too. Her vocals are pure and carry the song without a lot of production tricks. Simple and a pleasure to listen too. “I’m Home” speaks of love and comfort and is a love song at its best, where “Take It Back” gets you on your feet and swaying with the beat.

1. If I Smoked

2. Mobile
3. You Rock
4. Room for Doubt
5. Party at Home
6. Saving Grace
7. I’m Home
8. Hate the Lies
9. Take it Back
10. Every Word You’re Thinking

For more information on Carla Williams visit or

No comments: