MUSICROW MAGAZINE: Photos: Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame; Art Crawl

• May 13, 2015 • 
Photos: Bev Moser, Moments By Moser

Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Benefit

Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame members Mac Davis, Tom Douglas and Allen Shamblin performed at the organization’s inaugural “Hits From The Hall” show on Tuesday, April 14, at City Winery Nashville, with proceeds benefitting the Hall of Fame.
Pictured (L-R): Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Executive Director Mark Ford, Hall of Fame members Mac Davis, Allen Shamblin, Tom Douglas and Pat Alger, who is also the organization’s Board Chair.

Songwriters At The Art Crawl

The Songwriters Singing For Coffee series participated in this month’s First Saturday Art Crawl Downtown. On Saturday, May 2, Live at Fifth Third Center—The Downtown Art Crawl featured Ella Mae Bowen, Marcus Hummon, Chris Roberts, and Autumn McEntire, along with Scott Reeves, Jeff Cohen, Pete Sallis and Greg Friia.
The free Art Crawl is held the first Saturday of every month, when galleries host receptions and openings to present work from local and world-renowned artists.
 L-R Hummon, McEntire, Bowen, Eddie Bush and Chris Roberts
Pictured (L-R): Marcus Hummon, Autumn McEntire, Ella Mae Bowen, Eddie Bush and Chris Roberts

MUSICROW MAGAZINE: Teen Cancer America Partners With The Band Perry, Vanderbilt

• May 12, 2015 • 
Photo Credit: Bev Moser * Moments By Moser
Roger Daltrey, The Band Perry
Teen Cancer America national ambassadors The Band Perry.

The Band Perry are acting as national ambassadors for the organization Teen Cancer America. Roger Daltrey, founder of the non-profit, shared the news at a press event yesterday (May 11) at Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena, prior to his band The Who’s concert there.
Daltrey also welcomed the Monroe Carell Jr. Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt as the newest hospital to partner with Teen Cancer America (TCA). Daltrey noted the special emotional and social needs of teens with cancer, and how they sometimes fall through the cracks at hospitals. “They’re too old to be children and too young to be adults,” he said.
Three young cancer patients and former patients were part of the program. One boy explained what he wanted when he was undergoing treatment: a mini fridge, a place to play Legos and a DVR. That’s not too much to ask.
Daltrey shared a recent experience where he visited a hospital and was surprised to find that three teen boys were being treated there but hadn’t met each other. “They just want a room where they can do the things that teenagers do… have a bit of fun and talk to each other,” said the rock star. “The best therapy is to talk to each other.”
Kimberly Perry said, “We’ve noticed that teens and young adults still struggle with the same fears and anxieties (as younger children), that’s why we were so excited that TCA has a specific focus on catering to their needs. That’s programs, that’s environments, that’s mini fridges. And we are so excited to be in discussion with Vanderbilt to bring a wing here as our hometown community. This is near and dear to The Band Perry’s heart because so many of our fans at the shows night after night are teens and young adults… We’ve been looking for a long time for a non-profit to be involved with.”
Also on hand were TCA chair Rebecca Rothstein, and CEO Simon Davies; as well as Dr. Scott Borinstein, Vanderbilt Asst. Professor/director, Sarcoma Program.
Roger Daltrey and Pete Townshend have been patrons of Teenage Cancer Trust in the UK, the forerunner to TCA, for over 20 years. Based on its success in bringing the issues facing teens and young adults with cancer to the forefront, they expanded their efforts by founding Teen Cancer America in 2012. Vanderbilt is the eleventh hospital to join TCA; the organization is in talks with dozens of others to create more specialized facilities and programs to serve this age group.
Throughout The Who Hits 50! North America Tour, Teen Cancer America will be in attendance on each stop and will host fan fundraising events. The Who are donating $1.00 from every ticket sold to Teen Cancer America and fundraising through text donations (text WHO to 20222).

Photos: Bev Moser, Moments By Moser.
Roger Daltrey, The Band Perry
The Band Perry with Roger Daltrey and Reece, a former cancer patient.

Dog Art For Old Friends

Join us Oct 16, 2015 at Omni Nashville for the 2nd Annual Dog Art for Old Friends to benefit Old Friends Senior Dog Sanctuary.

Please mark your calendars now and plan to join the fun while helping our old friends!  100% of proceeds will benefit Old Friends Senior Dog Sanctuary.

Oct 10, 2014 Benefit Auction at Omni Nashville, photos by Bev Moser, courtesy of Moments by Moser

Dog Art and Several Artists in Attendance

The Reception and Silent Auction

The Live Auction!